What Best Times are Made of..

We were friends at one time

And then we were more than friends

You loved me and I loved you

You promised me a million things and I kissed you and promised you a little more

We did a lot of things together

Watched movies, held hands, talked for hours

I was happy

You were happy

I was happy that you were happy

You made me feel good about me

I hope I made you feel the same

And then I did something stupid

Something I shouldn’t have said

And everything shattered

“WE” changed to YOU and ME

I am lost today without you

I feel a void that never seems to shrink

I feel lost without you,

And more, without your friendship

Today, as I sat here going through some of our old chats

I remembered what you meant to me

What I meant to you

And I remembered

What Best Times are Made of

You were the best thing that happened to me

IΒ treasureΒ that

But I do not regret “WE” didn’t work

Because you taught me a lot

And more than anything else

What you truly taught me was

What Best Times are Made of

And I will be eternally grateful to you for that

And I will love you

Until my dying day

DISCLAIMER: This is my first attempt at something that’s different than plain prose. And for the sake of not insulting all the great poets we have around here, I’m not going to term it “poetry”. So that’s about it!

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. on thehomefrontandbeyond
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 22:22:18

    it is poetry and it speaks to the human condition – what else is poetry than the expression of human emotion? do not belitte your talents – this poem speaks

    Reply

  2. roughseasinthemed
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 00:39:45

    I love it πŸ™‚ And, what I love about some of the blogs I follow is that we all venture out into that so called poetic world – me included – and find we can write something that others can empathise with and understand.

    Here’s my first effort, nice to get some supporting comments from other bloggers:

    http://cloudsmovingin.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/retirement/

    I wouldn’t have written the same words as you – regarding the feelings – but still doesn’t stop it working. Only because I would have been unsure about the love until dying day – I would have left that more vague, but that is my style and not yours πŸ˜€

    Reply

  3. Lorna's Voice
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 00:42:11

    Nicely done. I have felt these feelings. When words are arranged in such a way that they move the reader, it’s art. You created art. I’d call that a success at your first attempt at poetry!

    Reply

  4. mistylayne
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 01:02:37

    Lovely and sad. I like how you’re able to appreciate what you had though, that’s hard to do sometimes.

    Reply

    • Shalvika P
      Aug 11, 2012 @ 11:22:55

      It takes a hell of a lot of time to appreciate that Misty. But in the end you just reach a point where you have accept the good parts of the relationship and move on.
      And I’m glad you like it πŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. carolynpageabc
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 04:38:42

    Awww…. that was so sweet….

    Reply

  6. Ben Naga
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 17:50:35

    Here’s a minimalist approach.

    A BARE BONES AFFAIR

    Hello
    Thank you
    Sorry
    Goodbye

    (Miss you)

    Reply

  7. Soma Mukherjee
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 11:37:34

    Oyee Shalvika have you not read what i write in the name of poetry !!!
    jokes apart..loved you poem…sad how relationships change,
    beautifully woven πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Shalvika P
      Aug 13, 2012 @ 11:47:27

      Thank you Soma! I’m glad you like it.
      And sweetheart, what you write in the name of poetry is kickass and I love it πŸ˜€
      And yes, changing relationships are a pain in the ass. But life is too short to sit moping around for someone. You left me, your loss πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  8. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 22:47:47

    It is poetry when it touches someone soul, as it did mine today. I can feel the love, the hurt and the moving forward. Blessings – Patty

    Reply

  9. Prateek Porwal
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 11:59:11

    Thoughts deeply buried inside each and every word. luckily visited your blog today. But your so called poetry(as u said) made me ponder over a loss i once suffered.

    Reply

  10. Varsha Rajan
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 17:46:07

    This is beautiful portrayal of emotions… when you fall in and out of love πŸ™‚ Nice

    Reply

What do you say?

