The Indian Wedding: Part I

“I dreamed of a wedding of elaborate elegance,

A church filled with family and friends.

I asked him what kind of a wedding he wished for,

He said one that would make me his wife.”

Weddings are one of the most important parts of our lives. We plan for them, we wait to find the right person and we plan, we wait to tell our families and we plan, we decide the dates to our weddings and we plan, we plan, we plan. At least that is true with us, the species from Venus!

And as a country diverse and vast in tradition, India does not lack elaborate wedding rituals and traditions. So today, I’m going to talk about the “Big Fat Indian Wedding”. I have wanted to do this post for quite some time now, but I was waiting for the time when I actually attend a wedding myself. But I haven’t gotten a chance to attend anyone’s wedding recently, so I decided to take the help of my dear friend, Google Images for the snaps.

So I am gonna split this post into parts, starting with the Indian Wedding Attire today! We Indians are extremely fond of flashy wedding attires ranging from our sarees to our jewellery. Here are some snaps of the different kinds of sarees available:

Banarasi Shalu

This saree here is a Benarasi Shalu. No Indian woman can feel like a bride without one of these! These sarees come from a place called Bearas or Varanasi in the state of Uttar Pradesh.

Paithani

This saree here is a Paithani, made in the Maharashtrian town of Paithan. This type of saree boasts of embroidery in gold threads.

Kanjeevaram

This here is a Kanjeevaram Saree which belong to the South Indian state of Tamil Nadu.

Gadwal Silk

The Gadwal Silk Sarees are a specialty of the State of Andhra Pradesh.

Patola Silk

Patola silk sarees are hand woven sarees from the place called Patan in the state of Gujarat.

There are a lot more types of sarees available in myriads of beautiful colors. The sarees combined with the traditional jewellery create an absolutely stunning combination.

The Maharashtrian Bride

This is a picture of a Maharashtrian bride with the traditional green glass bangles and mehendi (henna) on her hands and feet. I’m going to get to the mehendi ceremony some other time. She has an armlet on. I think the jewellery will also have to wait for some other time.

Nauvari

This is another type of Maharashtrian Saree called Nauvari. I know there are a lot of Maharashtrian things in here but being a Maharashtrian myself I think that’s the only part I know the best!

South Indian Bride

This is a South Indian bride with the tradition Kanjeevaram Saree.

This is a picture of a North Indian Bride in Lehenga. Lehenga is a long skirt usually adorned with embroidery and beads work.

Now, we’ll move a little towards the grooms.

The Indian Groom

Usually, the Indian groom wears a pagdi or a pheta, the headgear. The kurtas that are worn have embroidery or jardosi work. (Jardosi is a kind of stone work)

Shervani

The long coat is called a Shervani and is an integral part of Indian groom attire.

Dhoti

This is a traditional Dhoti worn by men below the kurtas. The footwear here is called mojadi.

This is all I have today on the Indian Wedding Attire. As you can see, there are very few pictures of the attires of grooms as compared to the brides. The reason could be, one, women are more enthusiastic about weddings, need more variety, need something that is unique at least for their weddings and number two, even Google agrees. Even if you search for Indian Grooms, you still end up with a lot of pictures of the brides!

Disclaimer: As we all know India is a huge country with 28 states and 7 union territories with people majorly following about 7 to 8 different religions. Covering the weddings of all the people from these myriad backgrounds seems a little difficult. So the series of posts on Indian wedding is just sort of an overview of the big fat Indian wedding as I understand it.

47 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lorna's Voice
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 23:52:34

    Just love the colors of the fabric. Total eye candy! Interesting post! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Gautam
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 01:32:47

    I love this post 😀 The pics are absolutely amaaaazzing! And have they given you any ideas for me? 😛

    Reply

  3. russtowne
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 01:53:14

    BEAUTIFUL! Thank you for sharing this information and these photographs.

    Russ

    Reply

  4. mistylayne
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 02:09:50

    Soooo beautiful!

    Reply

  5. carolynpageabc
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 03:20:28

    I get little heart flutters when I think of India… The sarees are soooo beautiful and feminine. I bought 4, when in India, and I was given 1 as a gift..
    This has been a wonderful read. Thanks Shalvika 🙂

    Reply

  6. roughseasinthemed
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 07:18:56

    I’m from a boring old white wedding country but I got married in scarlet. I love those colourful outfits, they are absolutely beautiful.

    Reply

    • Shalvika P
      Jul 06, 2012 @ 08:31:28

      Oh I love white weddings! There’s something so peaceful and beautiful about them. But I’m sure scarlet looked fabulous on you.
      And I’m really glad you like the outfits 😀 Thank you!

      Reply

  7. Elyse
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 08:08:20

    So beautiful. Thanks!

    Reply

  8. Vinay
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 10:14:54

    It sure is a pretty comprehensive set of photographs and well brought out article.. Nice going Shalvika 🙂

    Reply

  9. Soma Mukherjee
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 00:19:16

    what a lovely post Shalvika..oh the wedding shopping…the beautiful saarees…
    the ones you showcased here are just stunning 🙂

    Reply

  10. Stacie Chadwick
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 07:40:12

    Gorgeous!

    Reply

  11. shoes
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 09:21:46

    Absolutely beautiful fabrics and style! It is as if the bride and groom will be wearing artwork. Lovely post.

    Reply

  12. Madhu
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 12:17:22

    Thanks for leading me to your lovely blog! This is a beautiful post. Love the quote best of all, since i belong to the minority that feels the extravagance and garish display is a bit over the top. Much prefer the classier, traditional weddings of yore without the filmi trappings, but that’s just me 🙂

    Reply

    • Shalvika P
      Jul 08, 2012 @ 15:42:37

      Thank you Madhu!
      I think that’s a choice for everyone to make for themselves. Personally I feel that we get married just once in our lifetime (Ideally?) and it doesn’t harm to indulge in the filmy trappings. But again that’s just me 😉

      Reply

  13. yearstricken
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 03:20:46

    Full of information and beauty. Thank you.

    Reply

  14. Coming East
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 19:47:46

    Gorgeous outfits! I am unfamiliar with the different regions of India. I’m looking forward to learning more about your country and culture through reading your blog.

    Reply

  15. Asian Bridal Handbags
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 14:45:32

    This post is completely in touch with the indian wedding. And you write very good about the Indian wedding dresses and jewellery.

    Reply

  16. Sagar Patil
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 10:04:21

    hey nice one 🙂

    Reply

  17. Sumithra Sriram
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 18:20:43

    Lovely post!! I have never really appreciated the complexity and the variety of an Indian wedding before… You brought it all out… Thanks for sharing… 🙂

    Reply

    • Shalvika P
      Jul 23, 2012 @ 09:49:59

      Thank you Sumithra! And yes, it is absolutely difficult to bring out everything in an Indian Wedding. I mean, there’s so much ground to cover 🙂

      Reply

  18. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 07:02:57

    What beautiful fabrics and dresses – so vibrant and colorful. India has always interested me, this post is one of the reasons…Blessings, Patty

    Reply

    • Shalvika P
      Jul 23, 2012 @ 09:51:37

      Thank you Patty for your kind words.
      And yes, India is full of surprises all the time even fot those of us who have lived here all their lives. There’s just so many things to learn about it. It never ceases to fascinate you 😀

      Reply

  19. rainbowheartlove
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 23:34:41

    I have always thought the Indian dress is so beautiful. I sometimes see some of my customers wearing them and want to buy me one some day.

    Reply

    • Shalvika P
      Aug 04, 2012 @ 19:42:58

      Oh yes, it absolutely is beautiful. Though I don’t know how comfortable you’ll be carrying them off. I mean, they are quite difficult to manage. 🙂

      Reply

  20. Phenomenon
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 19:43:53

    I must say you have done more research than the bride or groom or their families would have ever done….very colourful post 🙂

    Reply

  21. Siddharth
    Aug 20, 2012 @ 22:10:48

    Interesting post shalvika! this is too much research 🙂

    Reply

  22. sachin patil
    Jun 15, 2013 @ 14:57:53

    gr8 information,it will help me to plan my wedding.
    thnx

    Reply

  23. The Blazing Trail
    Jan 03, 2014 @ 17:38:13

    Amazing images and detail you paint here Shavik. Thank you for sharing. Happy New Year!

    Reply

What do you say?

