The Forever 27 Club

Music for me is life. It is what lets me breathe. I can’t imagine living without music. It is what gets me through those tough days which occur more often than I would prefer. It intrigues me. Especially the art of making music. Appreciating it, I think, is an easy job. You just have to sit there with your headphones plugged in and listen and like whatever it is that makes you feel better. But composing, I feel, must be a Herculean task. I mean how do people come up with such brilliant compositions is beyond my grasp. I have always been fascinated by musicians, their lives, their stories. I find a different charm in them. Among all of them,I have known about this one intriguing tale called The Forever 27 Club for quite sometime now and today I’m gonna talk about that.

The Forever 27 Club is basically a group of musicians that all died at 27. And there’s a lot of them. I mean, yes, people of all ages die all the time but according to a survey I read there is a spike in the number of musician deaths at 27. It is sad and fascinating at the same time, isn’t it? To name a few legends, we have:

  • Robert Johnson (1911-1938) – Blues Singer
  • Brian Jones (1942-1969) – Founder of Rolling Stones band
  • Jimi Hendrix (1942-1970) – Musician and Singer- Songwriter
  • Janis Joplin (1943-1970) – Singer and Songwriter
  • Jim Morrison (1943-1971) – Lead singer of “The Doors”
  • Kurt Cobain (1967-1994) – Founder and lead singer of “Nirvana”

The Forever 27 Club

I know a lot of people have written explicitly about it. And I’m just a fan who has tried to read as much about it as I could. But what saddens me is the fact that most of them would probably have lived lot longer lives had it not been for their lifestyle. Their precipitous behavior is what killed most of them (And in cases when it didn’t, they made sure that they killed themselves.). I mean , thinking about it, what do you feel must be lacking in their lives. Why is it that most rockstars just end up being the reason of their own death in spite of the fact that they are famous, they are loved, people are crazy about them, they earn a lot (If you ignore the fact that some of them still manage to go broke!). And above all, they are all God-gifted with the one thing that most of us rock fans would probably die for. It is heart wrenching. It is sad. And above all, it is inexplicable for someone like me. The reason why these people were so screwed up. Was it the search for happiness? Was it over-thinking (I think that tends to happen to smart people)?

I think what makes them do what they do is the fact that they do not find the meaning or the purpose of their lives. They are just these crazy, highly talented, weird-ass artists with these crazy drifting souls that don’t let them come to peace with themselves.  Otherwise why would Jim Morrison pretend that he had no family? Why would Janis Joplin be that rebellious kid she was, wearing men’s clothing and short skirts? Why would someone like Kurt Cobain kill himself? Better to burn out than fade away? Really? Not something that I can come to terms with. I remember this one line I had read:

“The only thing you can truly control about life is your own death at your own hands”


I think what they do is just another human attempt to find what they are here for. And they fail. And then they resort to alcohol and drugs and eventually killing themselves in their search. And as far as the age 27 goes, I think that is just another one of those fascinating coincidences that this world is full of. They were just these drifting souls looking for happiness, because all we want to do in this world is be happy, isn’t it?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. T Scott
    May 17, 2012 @ 15:56:19

    You speak the universal language…very well I might add. Thanks for keeping real music alive!

    Reply

  2. Offline
    May 17, 2012 @ 18:33:27

    And here I was, thinking of the 32 club, the greats that cashed in theirs at 32 – and realising that since I’m still around, well past 32 I ain’t great after all

    Reply

  3. Urmila
    May 18, 2012 @ 16:08:29

    nice one shalvika! 🙂
    “drifting souls looking for happiness..” really like that!!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: The curious case of the two most important words « Musings of a 22 year old
  5. sokritiz
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 01:00:48

    So that explains your interest in my article “Imagine and Lenon.” Enjoyed reading.

    Reply

  6. sokritiz
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 18:02:11

    This article calls for more than one reading. The first time i went through it cursorily. This time i took more time and find it provokes one to think about the lives of artists.

    Reply

    • Shalvika P
      Jun 29, 2012 @ 18:08:38

      I’m glad you find it thought provoking. For me, I just don’t get why all artisits are just a little bonkers (Is that too harsh a word?). No offence to anyone, but aren’t artists supposed to appreciate the beauty of life better?

      Reply

      • sokritiz
        Jun 29, 2012 @ 18:42:14

        I also think that artists, especially the musicians, are to appreciate life. However Club 27 is about Western Rock musicians who live a bizarre life. I wonder if any similar observation is recorded about musicians of other genre of music.

        Reply

What do you say?

